I am now an Apple groupie

Of late, my six-year-old Dell desktop has begun to do some strange things.  Given it’s age, I’ve been functioning on borrowed time for years already, so when the latest round of problems started, I decided it was time to take action.  

Amongst the various options available, I chose to spend a good chunk of change on a MacBook.  I just set it up a matter of minutes ago.  We’ll see how this goes.  Hopefully my new-found mobility in being connected to the matrix, as it were, will not turn me into one of those Americans who reads less that four books a year.  However, I was tired of sitting down in the coffee shop and having a bunch of to-do items cross my mind that could only be done at the computer.  So here I am.

I don’t, as yet, have a wireless router.  I might not bother with one.  The ethernet works just fine at home, and the cable is long enough to reach anywhere in my apartment.  I must confess, however, that I couldn’t resist trying WirelessPhiladelphia.  I didn’t even know it was still around, but there it was when I turned on AirPort.  I could barely get a signal, proving once again that private enterprise does everything so much better than the government.

How’s that for blurting out anarchical thoughts in the midst of otherwise mundane chatter?

Leave a Reply

