Pithy Comment on American Education

The other night during my schola rehearsal, I don’t remember what I said, but I must have let something slip in German. One of my singers asked me, “Do you speak German fluently, or did you just study it in high school?”

The look on my face must have been priceless, judging by the reactions, and all I could say was that there wasn’t anything to add to such a question, that it is perhaps the pithiest and most damning description of American education I’ve ever heard.

Leave a Reply

