Two songs that I hate to love

Often, the lyrics to a given piece of music are utterly abhorrent to me while the music itself is delicious.  Such is the case with a couple of English nationalist hymns.

The first is God Save the Queen:

The second is I Vow to Thee, My Country:

I thought these would be some appropriate pieces to share, given the present Nationalist holiday taking place in America.  Every year at this time, I call up some of my monarchist friends and sing God Save the Queen.  It probably gives them false hope that I might be finding the Hapsburgian light, but really I’m just exorcising my frustration with the Americanists, who, though they celebrate Independence Day, have turned this country into such a mess that George III looks like a benevolent dictator.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.