The Splendour of Truth from Peter Schiff

Apologies for the toirtoise-like rate of posting lately.  While I’m in the midst of some work, I thought I’d post some interesting things I’ve found of late.

First is Peter Schiff’s very excellent speech at the Austrian Scholars’ Conference this year.  Truth, as many theologians have noted, has a certain splendour to it.  I think in the case of this speech it’s the laughter from the audience when Schiff holds certain Keynesian-esque fantasies in stark relief with plain old common sense.  This is long, but it’s worth every minute.

Secondly, and not unrelated to Schiff’s lecture, is The Collapse of the Dollar.  This is another long but worthwhile presentation.

In addition, I have recently finished reading Naomi Klein’s The Shock Doctrine, a tough book for any capitalist to read but one worth not only our scrutiny but our careful attention.  I will have more thorough comments about this book soon.

One of the things that has had me occupied recently is the preparation of my taxes.  A friend of mine is preparing them and called recently with the tentative figure which I’ll owe the federal government.  Some people think I’m crazy for owing money at the end of the year, but I don’t feel so bad about not having more withheld throught the year.  Look at the people in Kansas.  Many who overpaid their taxes through withholding in 2008 are not getting any money back, because the State of Kansas is broke and is desperate to make money any way they can.  Could there be a more bold admission that taxation is essentially theft?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.